THE VALE OF GLAMORGAN COUNCIL

Decision Notice – Annual Meeting, 10th May, 2021.

The Agenda is available here.

In attendance : Councillor Jayne Norman (Mayor); Councillors Julie Aviet, Vincent Bailey, Rhiannon Birch, Jonathan Bird, Bronwen Brooks, Lis Burnett, George Carroll, Christine Cave, Janice Charles, Millie Collins, Geoff Cox, Robert Crowley, Pamela Drake, Vincent Driscoll, Stewart Edwards, Ben Gray, Owen Griffiths, Stephen Griffiths, Anthony Hampton, Sally Hanks, Nic Hodges, Hunter Jarvie, Gwyn John, Dr. Ian Johnson, Gordon Kemp, Peter King, Kevin Mahoney, Kathryn McCaffer, Anne Moore, Neil Moore, Michael Morgan, Rachel Nugent-Finn, Andrew Parker, Bob Penrose, Sandra Perkes, Andrew Robertson, Leighton Rowlands, Ruba Sivagnanam, John Thomas, Neil Thomas, Steffan Wiliam, Margaret Wilkinson, Edward Williams, Mark Wilson and Marguerita Wright.

AGENDA ITEM 1. APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE -

This was received from Councillor A.R T. Davies.

AGENDA ITEM 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST -

No declarations were received.

AGENDA ITEM 3. ELECTION OF MAYOR -

RESOLVED – T H A T Councillor Mrs. J.M. Norman be elected Mayor of the Council for the ensuing Municipal year.

AGENDA ITEM 4. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR -

RESOLVED – T H A T Councillor Ms. R.M. Birch be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Council for the ensuing municipal year.

AGENDA ITEM 6. EXECUTIVE ARRANGEMENTS: CABINET MEMBERSHIP AND PORTFOLIOS –

RESOLVED -

(1) T H A T, as advised by the Leader, it be noted that Councillor Lis Burnett would be Deputy Leader and the Members of the Cabinet, together with details of their portfolios as indicated at Appendix A to the report, together with the designated "Champion" roles as set out in Appendix B to the report, be noted.

(2) T H A T the Chairman of the Scrutiny Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Group and the Chairman of the Democratic Services Committee continue to be designated the Council's Scrutiny and Member Development Champions respectively.

(3) T H A T the Council's payments of Senior Salaries for 2021/22 be as set out within paragraph 2.1 of the report.

AGENDA ITEM 7. SCRUTINY COMMITTEES: APPOINTMENT, MEMBERSHIP, TERMS OF REFERENCE AND ALLOCATION OF CHAIRMEN POSITIONS –

RESOLVED -

(1) T H A T the entitlement of the vacant seat on the Healthy Living and Social Care Scrutiny Committee to Councillor O. Griffiths be endorsed.

(2) T H A T the Scrutiny Committees, together with their Membership and Terms of Reference, as indicated in Appendix C and as outlined in the <u>Supplementary</u> <u>Information</u> to the report, be appointed for the ensuing Municipal year.

(3) T H A T the allocation of specific Scrutiny Committee Chairmen as notified by the relevant Group Leaders as contained within the report and appendices be noted.

AGENDA ITEM 8. QUASI-JUDICIAL COMMITTEES AND OTHER BODIES: APPOINTMENT, TERMS OF REFERENCE AND MEMBERSHIP –

RESOLVED -

(1) T H A T the revised allocation of seats on Committees taking into account the political balance calculations attached at Appendix B to the report be agreed.

(2) T H A T the entitlement of the vacant seats on the following Committees:

Discretionary Housing Payments Review Committee; Voluntary Sector Joint Liaison Committee; and Glamorgan Heritage Coast Advisory Group

to Councillor O. Griffiths (subject to Recommendation (3) below) be endorsed.

(3) T H A T, subject to Recommendation (2) above, the Council endorse the entitlement to the vacant seat on the Licensing Committee to Councillor O. Griffiths, subject to him giving up one seat from his entitlement to seats on the Council.

(4) T H A T following Councillor O. Griffiths' confirmation at the meeting that he did not wish to take up his seat on the Glamorgan Heritage Coast Group, the position be noted as vacant.

(5) T H A T the Quasi-Judicial Committees and Other Bodies, together with their Terms of Reference and Membership, as detailed in Appendix C and as set out in the <u>Supplementary Information</u> presented to the report, be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year.

(6) T H A T, having regard to the Planning Committee, membership be agreed as outlined in paragraphs 2.12 to 2.14 of the report.

AGENDA ITEM 9. DATES OF ORDINARY COUNCIL MEETINGS -

RESOLVED – T H A T it be noted that ordinary meetings of the Council will be held on the following dates:

- 26th July, 2021
- 20th September, 2021
- 6th December, 2021
- 7th March, 2022
- 25th April, 2022.

AGENDA ITEM 10. ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES –

RESOLVED -

(1) T H A T the Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees be appointed as set out below for the ensuing Municipal year:

<u>Appeals:</u>	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor Mrs. A. Moore Councillor Ms. S. Sivagnanam
<u>Community</u>	Chairman:	Councillor Mrs. S.M. Hanks
<u>Liaison:</u>	Vice-Chairman:	Councillor Ms. R.M. Birch
<u>Democratic</u>	Chairman:	Councillor V.J. Bailey
<u>Services:</u>	Vice-Chairman:	Councillor G.D.D. Carroll
<u>Discretionary</u> <u>Housing Payments</u> : <u>Review</u>	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor Mrs. S.M. Hanks Councillor T.H. Jarvie
Early Retirement/	Chairman:	Councillor N.C. Thomas
Redundancy:	Vice-Chairman:	Councillor G. John
<u>Glamorgan Heritage</u>	Chairman:	Councillor Mrs. S.M. Hanks
<u>Coast Advisory</u> :	Vice-Chairman:	Councillor A.C. Parker

Investigating:	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor M.R. Wilson Councillor L. Burnett
<u>Planning:</u>	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor J.C. Bird Councillor B.T. Gray
Public Protection Licensing:	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor J.W. Thomas Councillor Mrs. P. Drake
Statutory Licensing	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor J.W. Thomas Councillor Mrs. P. Drake
<u>Senior Management</u> <u>Appointment</u> :	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Leader Deputy Leader
<u>Trust:</u>	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor Mrs. P. Drake Councillor M.R. Wilson
<u>Voluntary Sector</u> Joint Liaison:	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor Ms. R.M. Birch Councillor Mrs. J.M. Norman
	Honorary Vice- Chairman	To be appointed from amongst the 7 representatives from the Voluntary and Health Sectors
Welsh Church Act Estate:	Chairman: Vice-Chairman:	Councillor M.R. Wilson Councillor Mrs. P. Drake

(2) T H A T the remaining Committees and Sub Committees be dealt with as set out within the report.