AGENDA ITEM NO. 7. NON-EXECUTIVE ARRANGEMENTS – SCRUTINY COMMITTEES: APPOINTMENT, MEMBERSHIP, TERMS OF REFERENCE AND ALLOCATION OF CHAIRMEN POSITIONS

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION

Members are requested to note that "true" entitlement to seats on Scrutiny Committees for each Group in 2021/22 is:

- Conservative 15.95 (rounded up to 16)
- Labour 13.85 (rounded up to 14)
- Vale Independents 8.50 (rounded up to 9)
- Llantwit First Independents 4.25 (rounded down to 4)
- Plaid Cymru 4.25 (rounded down to 4)
- Independent: Councillor Mahoney 1.05 (rounded down to 1)
- Independent: Councillor Penrose 1.05 (rounded down to 1)
- Independent: Councillor O. Griffiths 1.05 (rounded down to 1).

The apportionment of seats in 2021/22 will, therefore, be as follows:

- Conservative 16
- Labour 14
- Vale Independents 9
- Llantwit First Independents 4
- Plaid Cymru 4
- Councillor Mahoney 1
- Councillor Penrose 1
- Councillor O. Griffiths 1.

One seat was gained each by Councillors Mahoney and Penrose on Healthy Living and Social Care Scrutiny Committee as a result of the Plaid and Llantwit First Independent Groups previously being required to give up a seat on Scrutiny Committees. This brings both Groups and both Members to their true entitlement. However, both Members have confirmed that they will not be taking up their seats on the above Scrutiny Committee. Both seats will remain vacant as there is no entitlement to any other political group to fill these vacancies as they are at their legal entitlement.

The current overall political table is attached as Appendix B to the covering report.

As indicated in paragraphs 2.1 to 2.3 of the original report contained in the agenda previously circulated, the Group Leader of the Coalition has indicated that it is his intention to take their allocation of two Scrutiny Committee Chairmen and to be Chaired as follows:

- Corporate Performance and Resources Councillor M.R. Wilson
- Environment and Regeneration Councillor Ms. B.E. Brooks.

The Leader of the Conservative Group has indicated his intention to take their allocation of two Scrutiny Committee Chairmen and to be Chaired as follows:

- Healthy Living and Social Care Councillor S.J. Griffiths
- Learning and Culture Councillor G.C. Kemp.

The Plaid Cymru Group will retain the Chairmanship of the Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny Committee

Councillor Miss. A.M. Collins.

Political Groups, and where relevant the individual Member, have indicated their membership of Scrutiny Committees will be as follows:

(a) Corporate Performance and Resources Scrutiny – (10 Members) –

Conservative: 3: Councillors G.D.D. Carroll, R. Crowley and V.P. Driscoll

Labour: 3: Councillors Mrs. P. Drake, Ms. S. Sivagnanam and M.R. Wilson (Chairman)

Vale Independents: 2: Councillors G. Cox and J.W. Thomas

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor G. John

Plaid Cymru: 1: Councillor Dr. I.J. Johnson

(b) Environment and Regeneration Scrutiny – (10 Members) –

Conservative: 4: Councillors V.J. Bailey, V.P. Driscoll, A.R. Robertson and L.O. Rowlands

Labour: 3: Councillors Ms. B.E. Brooks (Chairman), Mrs. P. Drake and Ms. S. Sivagnanam

Vale Independents: 1: Councillor M.J.G. Morgan

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor G. John

Plaid Cymru: 1: Councillor S.T. Wiliam

(c) Healthy Living and Social Care Scrutiny - (10 Members) -

Conservative: 3: Councillors Mrs. J.E. Charles, S.J. Griffiths (Chairman) and Mrs. R. Nugent-Finn

Labour: 2: Councillors Ms. J. Aviet and N.C. Thomas

Vale Independents: 2: Councillors T.H. Jarvie and J.W. Thomas

Independent (Councillor K.P. Mahoney): 1: Vacant

Independent (Councillor R.A. Penrose): 1: Vacant

Independent (Councillor O. Griffiths): 1: To be agreed at the Annual Meeting

(d) Homes and Safe Communities Scrutiny - (10 Members) -

Conservative: 3: Councillors Mrs. C.A. Cave, Mrs. R. Nugent-Finn and L.O. Rowlands

Labour: 3: Councillors Ms. J. Aviet, Ms. B.E. Brooks and Mrs. S.D. Perkes

Vale Independents: 2: Councillors J.C. Bird and A.C. Parker

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor Mrs. S.M. Hanks

Plaid Cymru: 1: Councillor Miss. A.M. Collins (Chairman)

1 representative, in a co-opted non-voting observer capacity, of the following organisation:

Citizens Advice Cardiff and Vale

plus 4 Representatives from Tenant Working Group / Panel:

Mrs. W. Davies Mrs. G. Doyle Mr. A. Raybould Ms. H. Smith

(e) <u>Learning and Culture Scrutiny – (10 Members)</u> –

Conservative: 3: Councillors S.J. Griffiths, G.C. Kemp (Chairman) and L.O. Rowlands

Labour: 3: Councillors Ms. R.M. Birch, Mrs. S.D. Perkes and N.C. Thomas

Vale Independents: 2: Councillors T.H. Jarvie and A.C. Parker

Llantwit First Independents: 1: Councillor Mrs. J.M. Norman

Plaid Cymru: 1: Councillor N.P. Hodges

Also invited to attend as co-opted members:

Dr. M. Price (Roman Catholic Church).

Mr. A. Rickett (Church in Wales).

Vacant (Parent Governor – Secondary Sector) Mrs. J. Lynch-Wilson (Parent Governor – Primary Sector).

Also invited to attend as non-voting observers:

Mr. H. Gapper (Welsh Medium Education).

Vacant (Secondary).

Mr. Isaac Cramb (Vale Youth Forum).
Mr. Thomas Froud (Vale Youth Forum)

Vacant (Primary).
Vacant (Special).
Vacant (Headteachers).
Vacant (Free Churches).

Democratic – Reports – Annual Meeting

21-05-10 Scrutiny Committees Appointments Supplementary Information