

Cardiff Capital Region Regional Cabinet Meeting

9.00am-10.00am on Monday 21 February 2022 Remote Meeting via Microsoft Teams

Minutes

Leaders	and	Chiaf	EVAC	utivae
Leauers	anu	Ciliei	EXEC	นแงษร

Cllr Nigel Daniels Leader Blaenau Gwent CBC
Michelle Morris Managing Director Blaenau Gwent CBC

Cllr Huw David Leader Bridgend CBC
Mark Shephard Chief Executive Bridgend CBC
Cllr Huw Thomas Leader Cardiff Council
Paul Orders Chief Executive Cardiff Council
Cllr Philippa Marsden (from Leader Caerphilly CBC

09:12)

Cllr Lisa Mytton (from 09:29) Leader Merthyr Tydfil CBC
Cllr Richard John Leader Monmouthshire CC
Paul Matthews Chief Executive Monmouthshire CC

Cllr Jane Mudd Leader Newport CC

Cllr Andrew Morgan Leader Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC

Cllr Anthony Hunt Leader Torfaen CBC Stephen Vickers Chief Executive Torfaen CBC

Cllr Neil Moore Leader Vale of Glamorgan Council
Marcus Goldsworthy Head of Regeneration and Vale of Glamorgan Council

Planning

Officers

Section 151 Officer Christopher Lee Accountable Body Gill Brown Group Accountant Accountable Body Lindsey Yeoman Accountable Body Accountant **Gareth Gates** Accountable Body Accountant James Williams Accountable Body Solicitor Kellie Beirne Office of the CCR Director **Chief Operating Officer** Rhys Thomas Office of the CCR Head of Infrastructure Robert O'Dwyer Office of the CCR

Steven Hazleton Marketing & Office of the CCR

Communications Lead

Nicola Butler Business Development & Office of the CCR

Partnership Officer

Liz Fitzgerald (minutes)

Business Development & Office of the CCR

Partnership Officer

Observers

Gareth Ashman (from 09:26) Head Of Infrastructure UK Government
Tim Howard Deputy Director, Property
John Evans Programme Manager Welsh Government
Page 1 of 3

Apologies

Christina Harrhy Chief Executive Caerphilly CBC
Ellis Cooper Chief Executive Merthyr Tydfil CBC

Reverby Owen Chief Executive Newport CC

Beverly Owen Chief Executive Newport CC

Christopher Bradshaw Chief Executive Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC Chief Executive Vale of Glamorgan Council

Hrjinder Singh Head of Finance, Risk & Office of the CCR

Assurance

Nicola Somerville Head of Inclusive Growth & Office of the CCR

Business Development

Jon Wood Head of Innovation Office of the CCR Colan Mehaffey Head of Digital & Data Office of the CCR

Innovation

Suzanne Chesterton Head of Governance, Policy Office of the CCR

and Communications

1. Welcome and Apologies

Cllr Hunt opened the meeting and apologies were noted.

2. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were received.

3. Minutes of the meeting held on 31 January 2022

The minutes of the meeting held on 31 January 2022 were agreed as a true and accurate record of the meeting as moved by Cllr Moore and seconded by Cllr Morgan.

The report and all appendices below are exempt from publication because they contain information of the kind described in paragraphs 14 (information relating to the financial or business affairs of any particular person) and 21 (public interest test) of parts 4 and 5 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 and in all the circumstances of the case the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information

4. Acquisition and Remediation of the Former Aberthaw Power Station – Final Full Business Case

(1) Rhys introduced the item. Kellie advised that further to progress since paper despatch that Recommendation 2 of the report would need to be amended.

Cllr Marsden joined the meeting at 09:12

Gareth Ashman joined the meeting at 09:26

Cllr Mytton joined the meeting at 09:29

(2) Cllr Hunt asked Kellie to go through the amendment to Recommendation 2 of the report. Regional Cabinet accepted the amended Recommendation 2 as moved Page 2 of 3

- by Cllr Moore and seconded by Cllr Marsden.
- (3) The motion to deal with the recommendations of the report was moved by Cllr Moore and seconded by Cllr David.
- (4) Cllr Hunt obtained individual votes of acceptance from Leaders in the following order: Monmouthshire; Blaenau Gwent; Newport; Caerphilly; Merthyr Tydfil; Cardiff; Rhondda Cynon Taf; Vale of Glamorgan; Bridgend; Torfaen.
- (5) It was resolved that the CCR Regional Cabinet accepted the recommendations of the exempt report as amended.

This document is available in Welsh / Mae'r ddogfen hon ar gael yn Gymraeg